Cunningham Memorial Library

Spring Library Faculty Elections Meeting



Date: 7/12/05                                                                Approved; September 28, 2005

Time: 2:30 p.m.

Place: 028 Library


Present: Karen Evans, Susan Frey, Kathy Gaul, Steve Hardin, Betsy Hine, Michael Jarrell,

David Kaunelis, Juliet Kerico, Elizabeth Lorenzen, Cinda May, Rolland McGiverin, Christopher Mehrens, Marsha Miller, Maribeth Slebodnik, David Vancil, Elizabeth Wright

Absent: Sally Baker, Ralph Gabbard, Anthony Kaiser, Valentine Muyumba

Guest: Alberta Comer


Library Faculty Assembly Chair B. Hine called the meeting to order at 2:32 p.m. 


There was some question concerning E. Lorenzen’s eligibility to run for an LFA term; it was determined that she was finishing the second year of her first term; she was eligible because her service on the 2002/03 LFA was as an alternate, and does not count as part of a term. 


B. Hine noted the faculty needed alternates for her for the first semester of the 2005/06 academic year.  A second alternate will be needed for the balance of D. Kaunelis’ term when he leaves in a few weeks.  A third alternate will be needed in case there are more vacancies.  In addition, one alternate each is needed for the Grievance Committee and the Personnel Committee. 


All of the current LFA carry-over members (S. Hardin, B. Hine, Anthony Kaiser and D. Kaunelis) are midway through their first terms. 


In the LFA election, S. Frey, J. Kerico, C. Mehrens and M. Slebodnik were elected to the Assembly.   This will be the second term for J. Kerico and C. Mehrens. 


In a runoff election, R. McGiverin was elected as the general LFA alternate; E. Wright was elected as the second alternate.  She will fill in for B. Hine during the latter’s sabbatical. 


M. Jarrell was elected to serve out the balance of D. Kaunelis’ LFA term. 


Ralph Gabbard, K. Gaul, S. Hardin, E. Lorenzen and M. Miller were elected to serve on the Grievance Committee.  David Vancil won a runoff election for alternate to the Grievance Committee. 


S. Baker and S. Hardin were elected to two-year terms to the Personnel Committee.  R. Gabbard, M. Miller and V. Muyumba all carry over.  E. Lorenzen won a run-off election for alternate.


The election meeting adjourned at 3:15 p.m.


Respectfully submitted,


Steve Hardin

LFA Secretary