Library Dean Alberta Comer elected to LYRASIS Board

Press Release: Lyrasis [April 30, 2013]

LYRASIS announces new Board of Trustees members

Copyright (c) 2013 Lyrasis

Atlanta, GA – April 30, 2013 – LYRASIS members elected four new Board of Trustees members, who will each serve a three-year term. The Board also appointed non-member trustees and named new officers. The new Board members will start their terms at the beginning of the LYRASIS fiscal year on July 1, 2013.

The LYRASIS Member Election was open for two weeks, beginning April 7 and closing April 21. LYRASIS members voted for candidates to fill the open Board positions, which included 2 at-large representatives from any library or organization type, 1 public librarian and 1 state librarian.

The new Board Members are:

2 At-Large Representatives (from Any Library or Organization):

  • Alberta Comer – Dean of Library Services – Indiana State University
  • Elizabeth Gail McClenney – Deputy Director – Atlanta University Center Robert W. Woodruff Library (GA)

1 Public Librarian:

  • David Singleton – Director of Libraries – Charlotte Mecklenburg Library (NC)

1 State Librarian:

  • Julie Walker – Deputy State Librarian – Georgia Public Library Service

The Board also announced the appointment of two non-member trustees: Jim Pierce, Director of Treasury Services at the Georgia Institute of Technology, serving his second term, and Gregor Trinkaus-Randall, Preservation Specialist, Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners, serving his first term.

>>see link above for rest of press release