Other Libraries
Materials checked out at other libraries by ISU personnel may be returned to the ISU Interlibrary Loan Office and we will return the books
(some restrictions do apply; check with Interlibrary Loan first!). Your Sycamore ID card can be used at the Vigo County Public Library, and Saint Mary of the Woods.
Search other libraries to ascertain complete lists of works by authors, etc. It is, however, not necessary to search catalogs of other
libraries before submitting Interlibrary Loan Requests. (ISU-affiliated library users
only!; others must use their college's service or public library)
Wabash Valley | Indiana Academic |
Indiana Public & Other | Other Libraries & Collections
The libraries listed below share an online catalog.
For contact information and specific library hours, click here.
The local public library is also a good place to search for materials.
- Indiana College & University Libraries
- Indiana University All-Campus Online Catalog
- Indiana University Libraries Main Pages
- Individual Campuses:
- Bloomington
- Indianapolis (IUPUI)
- Columbus {Serving IUPUC, Ivy Tech Community College and the Purdue College of Technology}
- Fort Wayne (IPFW)
- Gary (IUN)
- Kokomo
- New Albany (IUS)
- Richmond (IUE)
- South Bend
- Ball State University
- Ivy Tech State College
- Purdue University
- PALNI
(Private Academic Library Network of Indiana) -- search one college library,
or search multiple libraries' holdings. Member institutions:
Anderson University, Ancilla College, Assoc. Mennonite Biblical Sem.,
Butler University, Christian Theological Sem., Concordia Theological Sem., DePauw University, Earlham College,
Franklin College, Goshen College, Grace College, Hanover College, Huntington University, Indiana Wesleyan Univ., Manchester
College, Marian College, Oakland City Univ., St. Joseph's College, St. Meinrad, Taylor Univ. at Ft. Wayne, Taylor Univ. at Upland,
Tri-State University, University of Indianapolis, Univ. of St. Francis, Valparaiso University, Wabash College
- Vincennes University
Selected list of Indiana public libraries:
Major & multiple libraries & collections:
- INCat, the Indiana group catalog, brings the
collections of over 400 Indiana libraries together, through a single search. INCat is powered by WorldCat, the world's most
comprehensive database of library collections, and grouping them so that they can be viewed separately.
Indiana libraries have contributed 8.2 million records for 25 million holdings to WorldCat and with the release
of INCat, you can search the collections of all participating libraries in the state at once. Your INCat search defaults to the
catalog that includes the collections of all participating Indiana libraries.
From a drop-down menu, you may limit your search to libraries in a geographic region of the state (Central,
East Central, North Central, Northeast, Northwest, Northwest Central, Southeast, Southwest, Southwest Central)
or to a specific type of library (academic, government, health science, law, public, school and theological.) INCat is supported by the
Institute of Museums and Library Services under the provisions of the Library
Services and Technology Act, administered by the Indiana State Library. INCat service is provided by INCOLSA.
- Indiana Public Libraries [State Library listing]
- Indiana State Library The State Library link provides access to
their Genealogy collections; Indiana collections; special services such as the Indiana Visually Impaired Resource List; links to Indiana
Community Networks; INSPIRE; Access Indiana; Indiana Video Information Network; links to other government and library sites; e.g.,
Indiana Public Libraries; Indiana Literacy & Technical Education Resource Center; Indiana Historical Bureau, Indiana Literacy Foundation,
Indiana State Archives
- INSPIRE [INdiana SPectrum of Information
REsources, the Indiana Virtual Library] a collection of commercial databases and other information resources that can be
accessed by Indiana residents using any PC equipped with an Indiana Internet connection and a Web Browser. INSPIRE is currently
provided free of charge as a service of the State and libraries of Indiana. You will see links to INSPIRE from most/all public library sites in
Indiana. For many public libraries, INSPIRE provides unique access that would not otherwise be available to their clientele.
Many academic libraries use INSPIRE databases to supplement those subscribed to by other means. Note: There are many parts of INSPIRE, and
different 'entry points.' Explore the opening screen. In some cases, a database at one library might have the same name as an INSPIRE database;
however, the interface may differ. Also, an academic library's databases are often restricted to their own campus users, so the
INSPIRE databases may be the only access point. INSPIRE has special databases for K-12 and access to other great resources such as
the Biography Resource Center; LitFinder (includes Poem Finder: citations, excerpts and full-text poems; and
Story Finder: full-text short stories); Informe! (Popular Spanish-language magazines and pamphlets in both
Spanish and English interfaces), What Tree Is It?; and Topicsearch (selected articles from EBSCO databases arranged by topic).
INSPIRE databases are full-text.
- netLibrary
A searchable collection of e-books (electronic versions of printed books), with access to the full-text of hundreds of newly published
books plus hundreds of classic works of literature and history that are now in the public domain. Books can be browsed for quick research
or reference or checked out for longer term use. Users must set up their own account to use this resource.
- WorldCat
Combined catalog of more than 100 million books, web resources, and other materials from thousands of libraries
throughout the world. From this database, you can electronically request items via interlibrary loan for items
not held by the ISU Library. Search for books, serials, non-print media, etc. Restrictions:
2 simultaneous users; off-campus use restricted to ISU faculty, staff, and students.
The Open WorldCat makes the items in library collections physical and digital, popular or special discoverable
by people searching the Internet.
- Library of Congress:
one of the most amazing sites! Look at LC's American Memory, Global Gateway, America's Library, THOMAS (Legislative info), online
Exhibition Gallerys, and the Wise Guide (It's Fun to Know History). Special links for Researchers, Librarians, Teachers, Kids
& Families, etc.
- Library of Congress Z39.50 Gateway
This site contains links to various Z39.50 resources, and provides a gateway to many library catalogs (alphabetical by institution/organization)
- Books in Print While not a library catalog per se, check Books in Print to see what may be available (English language).
Search not only for books but also audio & video. Special search areas for Forthcoming, Children, & Fiction. Links to Publisher
information. Search by keyword, author, title, ISBN, or Browse by General Subject or by Index. Find links to book, audio & video award-winners
and nominees (more than 300 distinguished awards), bestsellers (more than 100 years) and author's biographies (more than 6,000).
(5 user limit)
- LibDex: The Library Index [formerly called WebCats] Worldwide index to 18,000
library catalogues, web sites and Friends of Libraries pages. Searchable by geographic area, vendor and keyword. Edited and compiled
by Peter Scott.
- LibWeb ; library servers via WWW; currently lists over 8000 pages from libraries in over 146 countries