Library Databases by Subject Area

Access library databases on campus or off-campus (with your Sycamore Login and Password). For details on getting off-campus access, go to the proxy instructions page.

database description     tutorial tutorial      access restrictions

History Databases


Recommended Databases


highly_used  America: History and LifeMore    Restrictions
highly_used  Biography Resource CenterMore    Restrictions
highly_used  Historical AbstractsMore    Restrictions



Additional Databases


American MemoryMore
American National Biography OnlineMore  Restrictions
American Slave Narratives: An Online AnthologyMore
Archival Sound RecordingsMore
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1984-present)More
Biography and Genealogy Master IndexMore  Restrictions
Debs CollectionMore
Dictionary of American BiographyMore  Restrictions
Dictionary of National Biography (Oxford)More  Restrictions
Facts on File (FACTS.com)More
Historical Newspapers (from ProQuest)More
Humanities & Social Sciences Index RetrospectiveMore  Restrictions
Humanities Abstracts Full TextMore  Restrictions
Humanities International IndexMore
Index to Early American Periodicals: 1741 to 1935More
Indiana Biography IndexMore
Indiana Writers' Project/Program CollectionMore
JSTORMore
Making of America (Cornell University)More
Making of America (University of Michigan)More
Manuscripts and Repository Holdings: Indiana State University LibraryMore
Neff-Guttridge CollectionMore
New York Times (Historical: 1851-2004)More
North American Slave NarrativesMore
Oxford Dictionary of National BiographyMore  Restrictions
Prints and Photographs Reading Room-Library of CongressMore
Project MuseMore
Samuel J. May Anti-Slavery CollectionMore
Social Sciences Citation Index (1984-present)More
Vietnam ProjectMore
Walker Collection (Nineteenth-Century Textbooks, Etc.)More
Wall Street Journal (Historical: 1889-1990)More

Back to ISU Library Home