Adolescence in America

An encyclopedia in ABC-CLIO's American Family series.

African American Almanac

Provides historical and current information on African American history, society, and culture; also includes a chronology, a chapter of important primary documents, directories of organizations and businesses, a bibliography of recently-published works, annotated lists of crucial court cases, a filmography, hundreds of brief biographies, illustrations, maps, and statistical charts.

African American Education

A reference handbook in ABC-CLIO's Contemporary Education Issues series.

African Americans and Political Participation

A reference handbook in ABC-CLIO's Political Participation in America series.

African Americans at War

An encyclopedia from ABC-CLIO.

AMA Handbook of Business Letters

A handbook on letter-writing for medical professionals (but useful for others), with sample letters.

American Ethnic Writers

An encyclopedia in the Magill's Choice series.

American FactFinder

Comprehensive and easy-to-use resource for population, housing, economic and geographic data. A service of the U.S. Census Bureau.

American Medical Association Physician Select

Accesses database of AMA-certified physicians searchable by name or specialty.

American National Biography

The landmark American National Biography offers portraits of more than 17,000 men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the nation. The publication of the online edition offers quarterly updates, with hundreds of new entries each year and revisions of previously published entries to enhance their accuracy and currency. The ANB Online features thousands of illustrations, more than 80,000 hyperlinked cross-references, links to select web sites, and powerful search capabilities. The American National Biography is published by Oxford University Press under the auspices of the American Council of Learned Societies.

American National Standards Institute

Information on ANSI (American National Standards Institute) and the latest national and international standards-related activities.

American Society for Testing & Materials

American Society for Testing and Materials Home Page.

American Universities

Links to home pages for American Universities granting bachelor or advanced degrees.

American Women in Technology

An ABC-CLIO encyclopedia on U.S. women in science and technology.

America's Fastest Growing Jobs

A listing of 141 jobs, with a guide to job searching.

Animals and the Law

An ABC-CLIO sourcebook in the Contemporary Legal Issues series.

APA Style

American Psychological Association (APA) Format (Updated to 5th Edition). Excerpts from the new 5th edition of the American Psychological Association (APA) Publication Manual. The material covers commonly asked questions regarding how to cite material. Brought to you by the Purdue University Online Writing Lab.

APA Style.org: Electronic References

The material is excerpted from the 5th edition of the Publication Manual (© 2001). The material covers commonly asked questions regarding how to cite electronic media.

APA Style Essentials

A summary of important points from the APA Publication Manual (5th ed.), including examples of how to cite print and electronic sources.

APA Wizard

EB Communications' step-by-step online citation builder. Note: You must still proofread the machine-produced citation for accuracy.

Art & Architecture (Oxford Reference Online)

Oxford University Press's Dictionary of Architecture, Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art and Artists, Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, Oxford Dictionary of Art, Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Art, Oxford Companion to Western Art.

Assessing Children's Well-Being

A handbook of screening, examination, and other measures.

AT&T AnyWho: Find a Toll-Free Number

Search for any toll-free number in the U.S.

AT&T AnyWho: Internet Directory Assistance

Search for people and business through the U.S. in the following ways: find a business by category, find a person, find a business by name, find a person or business by phone number.

Attention Deficit Disorder

A medical dictionary, bibliography and annotated research guide to Internet references.

Bartleby.com: Reference

Search numerous contemporary and classic reference works, individually or at the same time. Includes dictionaries, encyclopedias, gazetteers, quotations, thesauri and English usage guide.

Baseball

A popular culture encyclopedia from ABC-CLIO.

Basic Legal Citation

A Cornell University law professor's guide to citing legal and governmental materials using Bluebook style.

Beacham's Guide to the Endangered Species of North America

Presents extensive data on the habitats and ecosystems of more than 1,200 species identified as endangered or threatened by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife service.

Bilingual Dictionaries (Oxford Reference Online)

Oxford University Press's dictionaries in French, German, Italian, Latin, and Spanish.

Bilinguals (Xreferplus)

Dictionaries in French, German, Italian, Latin, Portuguese, and Spanish.

Biodiversity

A reference handbook in ABC-CLIO's Contemporary World Issues series.

Biological Sciences (Oxford Reference Online)

Oxford University Press's Dictionary of Biology, Oxford Companion to the Body, Dictionary of Ecology, Dictionary of Plant Sciences, Dictionary of Scientists, Dictionary of Zoology.

Birth Control

A medical dictionary, bibliography, and annotated research guide to Internet references.

Blackwell Companion to Modern Theology

A collection of articles on theological terms and concepts and on theologians.

Blackwell Dictionary of Sociology

A user's guide to sociological language.

Books in Print (Global)

Global Books in Print with Reviews contains over 5 million bibliographic records including active and inactive video and audio records. It features over 500,000 full-text reviews, dating back to 1985, from numerous authoritative book review publications. It also includes access to Bowker's Publisher Authority Database of more than 165,000 publishers, distributors, wholesalers, and book agents, over 5,000 Author Biographies, information on over 300 Book, Audio and Video Awards, three "rooms" for targeted searching (Fiction Room, Children's Room, and Forthcoming Book Room) and stock information from 20 wholesalers & distributors.

Boyhood in America

An encyclopedia in ABC-CLIO's American Family series.

Bureau of Economic Analysis

From the U.S. Department of Commerce, economic reports on a variety of topics, including the U.S. Gross Domestic Product and the international balance of payments.

Bureau of Labor Statistics

From the U.S. Department of Labor, statistics on most economic matters of interest to the U.S. government, including the Consumer Price Index and unemployment rates.

Business Leader Profiles for Students

Profiles of significant contributors to business and industry, written especially for high school students.

Business Letters for Busy People

A collection of sample letters for all business uses.

Cannabis

A medical dictionary, bibliography and annotated research guide to Internet references.

Census 2010: Indiana

This site provides general information on the use and accessibility of data from Census 2010.

Census Bureau Economic Programs

From the U.S. Census Bureau, a wide variety of economic indicators, including county business patterns, advance monthly sales, and e-commerce reports.

Chicago Manual of Style Citation Guide

This guide is based on the The Chicago Manual of Style 14th ed. rev. (University of Chicago Press, 1993). Examples are shown for both the newer Scientific style of citation recommended for natural sciences and social sciences, as well as the more traditional Humanities style used for fine arts, literature, etc. Produced by the Ohio State University Office of Library Instruction.

Child Development

Covers issues related to human development from conception through adolescence; part of the Macmillan Psychology Reference Series.

CIA World Factbook

Information about countries and regions from around the world, in areas of geography, people, government, the economy, communications, transportation, the military and transnational issues.

CIA World Factbook (Xreferplus)

Information about countries and regions from around the world, in areas of geography, people, government, the economy, communications, transportation, the military and transnational issues.

Classics (Oxford Reference Online)

Oxford University Press's reference works on classical literature and civilization and Latin-English, English-Latin dictionaries.

Clinician's Pocket Reference

A basic handbook on clinical practice for medical students.

Columbia Encyclopedia

Containing nearly 51,000 entries and with more than 80,000 hypertext cross-references, the current Sixth Edition is among the most complete and up-to-date encyclopedias ever produced.

Columbia Gazetteer of North America

With 50,000 entries, the Gazetteer covers every incorporated place and county in the United States, along with several thousand unincorporated places, special-purpose sites, and physical features, as well as Canada, Mexico and the Caribbean.

Columbia Guide to Online Style

The Columbia Guide to Online Style is a comprehensive guide to citing and producing academic documents and resources that are stored electronically. Working as an interdisciplinary template that can be applied to a variety of already established style guides such as APA, Chicago, and MLA, it offers advice that can be adapted to whichever style a particular discipline, instructor, colleague, journal, editor, or publisher has selected.

Companion to Gender History

From Blackwell, a collection of articles on basic topics in the history of gender.

Computing (Oxford Reference Online)

Oxford University Press's reference works on computing, the Internet, and weights, measures, and units.

Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science

Over 1200 entries on every aspect of psychology and behavior science.

Country at a Glance

Up-to-date statistical data from all of the United Nations member countries.

Countries and Their Cultures

Presents the cultural similarities within a country that set it apart from others by examining over 200 countries to document the myriad ways in which culture defines and separates the nations of the world as much as geographical borders do. Surveys each country's shared values, behaviors and cultural variations from foods and rituals to pastimes and arts, using a standard entry format for easy comparison. Provides illustrations, photographs and maps.

Country Studies

A continuing series of books prepared by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress. This series presently contains studies of 101 countries and regions.

Criminal Law Handbook

Subtitled "Know Your Rights, Survive the System," a handbook on criminal procedure for general audiences from NOLO.

Davis's Comprehensive Laboratory and Diagnostic Test Handbook

An encyclopedia of diagnostic tests, compiled for nursing professionals.

Death and the Afterlife

An ABC-CLIO cultural encyclopedia on death, funerals, and life after death.

Dictionary of Accounting Terms

From Barron's, a glossary of 2500 accounting and financial terms, with a list of abbreviations.

Dictionary of E-Business

A guide to business and technology terms, from Wiley.

Dictionary of Midwestern Literature

A survey of the lives and writings of about 400 U.S. Midwestern authors, with discussion of critical commentary.

Dictionary of National Biography (Oxford)

An illustrated collection of more than 50,000 specially written biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of Britain's past, from the fourth century BC to the year 2001. Updates are added three times a year. Produced by Oxford University Press.

Dictionary of Nursing Theory and Research

Defines terms relevant to nursing theory and research with cross-references and citations from the scholarly literature.

Digital Librarian: Reference

Links to quality reference web sites.

Earth & Environmental Sciences (Oxford Reference Online)

Oxford University Press's reference works on earth sciences, ecology, geography, and weather.

EarthTrends Environmental Information Portal

Online collection of information regarding environmental, social, and economic trends; included country profiles and topical reports.

Economics & Business (Oxford Reference Online)

Oxford University Press's reference works on accounting, business, economics, finance, and banking.

Edmund's

Automobile buyer's guide.

Electrical Engineer's Portable Handbook

A collection of basic information for practicing electrical engineers.

Encyclopaedia Britannica Online

Encyclopaedia Britannica Online includes the complete encyclopedia, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Britannica Student Encyclopedia and the Britannica Book of the Year. You can also use Encyclopedia Britannica Online to search an Internet directory that includes more than 300,000 links to Web sites selected, rated, and reviewed by Britannica editors.

Encyclopedia of Astronomy and Astrophysics

Online access to the entire text of the Encyclopedia of Astronomy and Astrophysics with continuous updating to the text, periodic additions of new material and extensive links to primary literature and important websites. Contains the full text of all 2,500 peer-reviewed entries totaling 2.5 million words. Also includes breaking news prepared specially for the Encyclopedia of Astronomy and Astrophysics.

Encyclopedia of Birth Control

An ABC-CLIO encyclopedia on birth control and the birth control movement.

Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion

Surveys clothing, body adornment, and examines the origins of clothing, the development of fabrics and technologies, and the social meanings of dress.

Encyclopedia of Communication and Information

Explores the full spectrum of communication, from careers to information technologies, in an interdisciplinary fashion. Emphasis is on both historical and current issues, topics, and people.

Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice

Covers legal, sociological, psychological, historical, and economic aspects of crime and justice worldwide, including civil and criminal issues, from domestic violence to terrorism.

Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol, and Addictive Behavior

Specifically addresses the new frontiers that have opened in the area of addictive studies; explores not only the biological basis for addiction, but also recent enhancements in diagnosis and treatment.

Encyclopedia of Education

A comprehensive description of the enterprise of education both within the United States and throughout the world, offering a view of the institutions, people, processes, and products found in educational practice.

Encyclopedia of Feminist Theories

An encyclopedia of feminist thinkers and their theories.

Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World

Looks at Islam's role in the modern world, doing so in context of the religion's history and development over the last 13 centuries. Contains thematic articles, biographies of key figures, definitions, illustrations, maps and more.

Encyclopedia of Lesbian and Gay Histories and Cultures

Comprehensive encyclopedia regarding the history of homesexuality.

Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered History in America

A comprehensive survey of lesbian and gay history and culture in the United States, surveying topics such as the Stonewall riots, federal law and policy, same-sex institutions, and AIDS.

Encyclopedia of Life Sciences

The Encyclopedia of Life Sciences (ELS) includes peer-reviewed articles, essays and news in the biological and life sciences, with more than 3,000 original articles written by 5,000 of the worlds leading scientists, over 12 million words. More than 6,000 illustrations are provided. Core coverage: biochemistry, biodiversity, cell biology, clinical medicine, developmental biology, ecology, evolution, genetics, history & philosophy of science, immunology, microbiology, molecular biology, neuroscience, plant science, structural biology and virology. All articles have a list of references, some of which provide links to external Web sources. Appendix and glossary components provide descriptions of biochemical and taxonomical data, acronyms and abbreviations, synonyms, units, and other technical data. "Special Essays" were commissioned to address 50 "hot topics.".

Encyclopedia of Modern Asia

Articles on Modern Asia from a global perspective, including Asian relations with Western nations, the relations between nations within Asia, and also the flow of people, goods, and ideas within Asia and globally.

Encyclopedia of Occultism and Parapsychology

Profiles of notable individuals associated with the occult and the paranormal from around the world and throughout history.

Encyclopedia of Postmodernism

A Routledge encyclopedia of topics and names relating to postmodernism.

Encyclopedia of Religion

Coverage of the diversity of religious traditions organized according to historical, geographical, and ethnographic continuities.

Encyclopedia of Sociology

Articles covering core issues such as race, poverty, violence, economics, pregnancy, abortion, the Internet, privacy, and epidemiology.

Encyclopedia of Taboos

A preliminary guide to taboos, examining aspects of their meaning, use, and importance in religion, economics, politics, and society.

Encyclopedia of the American Civil War

More than 1600 essays on the U.S. Civil War, covering the coming of the war, its conduct, and its consequences in a political, military, and social context.

Encyclopedia of the Stateless Nations

Articles on over 300 national groups not formed into nation-states.

Encyclopedia of Urban Legends

A comprehensive reference work on contemporary legends, modern legends, or urban legends.

Encyclopedia of Women in the Ancient World

An encyclopedia on women in the Middle Eastern and Mediterranean regions, from the Stone Ages to the beginning of the Middle Ages.

Encyclopedia of World Biography

Profiles of notable people from around the world and all periods of history.

Encyclopedia (Oxford Reference Online)

Oxford University Press's World Encyclopedia.

Encyclopedia of World Cultures

Online encylcopedia originally published in 10 print volumes that lists and describes more than 1,500 global cultures. Based on research of social scientists, it is the source for historical, social, political, economic, linguistic, religious, and other information on virtually every existing culture.

Encyclopedic Dictionary of Plant Breeding and Related Subjects

A glossary of terms in botany, genetics, and plant breeding, with a list of important crop plants.

English Dictionaries & Thesauruses (Oxford Reference Online)

Oxford University Press's dictionaries (other than the large Oxford English Dictionary).

English Language Reference (Oxford Reference Online)

Oxford University Press's usage guides and dictionaries of etymology, proverbs, foreign terms, and eponyms.

Ersys Earth Resource System

Maps, charts, reports, and relevant links for over 2600 US cities, with detailed information on demographics, environmental factors, economic indicators, housing stats, media, schools, transportation, and local contacts.

Espere Climate Encyclopedia

Searches the electronic English version of this encyclopedia originally published in German.

Essential Links: Reference

Links to reference resources.

Environmental Encyclopedia

Worldwide coverage of environmental issues, with current status, analysis, and suggested solutions.

Extraordinary Encounters: An Encyclopedia of Extraterrestrials and Otherworldly Beings

An excyclopedia of experiences or perceived experiences of other-worldly forces as claimed by a wide range of individuals over the past 200 years.

Federal Citizen Information Center

From the U.S. General Services Administration, this site includes the full text versions of the GSA's consumer publications. Topics include cars, children, food and nutrition, money, small business, employment, health, travel, housing, and federal programs.

FedStats

The gateway to statistics from over 100 U.S. Federal agencies.

Fifty Key Thinkers in Psychology

From Routledge, a collection of biographies of psychologists from Hermann von Helmholtz to John Anderson.

Find Associations

Find associations, people and businesses (from the American Society of Association Executives).

Food & Drink (Oxford Reference Online)

Oxford University Press's reference works on diet, nutrition, and fitness.

Foundation Center

Grant funding resources.

Funk and Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia

Provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries. Searchable by subject or keywords within the entry.

Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health

Entries cover topics in body systems and functions, conditions and common diseases, issues and theories, techniques and practices, and devices and equipment. Also discusses the roles of all major health professionals.

Gale Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders

Provides information on genetic disorders, including conditions, tests, procedures, treatments and therapies.

Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Disorders

Includes entries for all 150 disorders classified in the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, text revision (DSM-IV-TR). Also features entries for prescription, alternative, and over-the-counter drugs, as well as the various therapies used to treat mental disorders.

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Several major reference works in sciences, social sciences, healthcare, and general topics.

Gambling in America

An ABC-CLIO encyclopedia of history, issues, and society.

Gateway to Educational Materials

A collection of curricular materials, data, and research documents. Provided by the Information Institute of Syracuse and sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education.

Geo-Data: The World Geographical Encyclopedia

Describes the physical geography of every nation and dependency on Earth, including physical features, climate, and vegetation.

GEOLEX: Geologic Names Lexicon

Searches the online version of the U.S. Geological Survey's Lexicon of Geologic Names.

Girlhood in America

An encyclopedia in ABC-CLIO's American Family series.

Global Etiquette Guide to Africa and the Middle East

An etiquette handbook for business travelers and tourists in Africa and the Middle East.

Global Etiquette Guide to Mexico and Latin America

An etiquette handbook for business travelers and tourists in Latin America.

Grove Art Online

Grove Art Online provides web access to the entire text of The Dictionary of Art (1996, 34 vols.). The database contains more than 45,000 articles and over 22,000 links to important art images in galleries and museums around the world. Updates, new articles and new image links will be added as an on-going feature of this dynamic product.

Grove Music Online

Comprising the full text of the second edition of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, Grove Music Online also includes over 3,000 links to related sites, including sound archives and illustrations. Updated quarterly. The New Grove Dictionary of Opera is now part of Grove Music Online.

Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia

Includes entries on all phyla and most classes of animals, with information on evolution and systematics, physical characteristics, distribution, habitat, behavior, feeding ecology and diet, reproductive biology, conservation status, significance to humans, and individual species accounts.

Guns in American Society

An ABC-CLIO encyclopedia of history, politics, culture, and the law.

Harrison's Manual of Medicine

A brief handbook of internal medicine, for medical students.

History (Oxford Reference Online)

Oxford University Press's reference works on history, including archeology, U.S. history, U.S government, British history, Australian history, world history, local history, and history of science.

Homosexuality and the Law

A dictionary on lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender legal issues, with additional reference to sociological, psychological, and medical information.

How Far Is It

This service uses data from the U.S. Census and a supplementary list of cities around the world to find the latitude and longitude of two places, and then calculates the distance between them (as the crow flies). It also provides a map showing the two places.

Hutchison Dictionary of Computing and the Internet

A dictionary of terms and names in computer science.

Hutchison Dictionary of Science

A dictionary of scientific terms and names.

Hutchison Science Desk Reference

Explanations of basic scientific terms, arranged by topic.

Hypertext Webster Gateway

Searches several dictionaries, including Webster's Revised Unabridged Dictionary (1913).

Illustrated Dictionary of Electronics

A dictionary of electronics and technology terms, including terms in wireless technology, robotics, and artificial intelligence.

Indiana Business Research Center

Business trends and analysis, from the Kelley School of Business at Indiana University.

Indiana Colleges and Universities

Links to college web sites and phone numbers, online applications, scholarships and financial aid, email addresses and admissions email addresses for all Indiana colleges and universities.

Indiana State University Directory

Phone, email and other contact information for Indiana State University faculty, staff and students.

Infobel Word: Telephone Directories

Links to more than 400 online phone books: Yellow Pages, White Pages, and Business Directories from over 170 countries all around the world. .

INFOMINE: General Reference Resources

Links to scholarly Internet reference resources.

InfoSpace

Look up people, businesses and government agencies. Includes names, addresses, email addresses, phone numbers and maps which show locations of retrieved entries.

Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research

ICPSR offers more than 500,000 digital files containing social science research data. Disciplines represented include political science, sociology, demography, economics, history, gerontology, criminal justice, public health, foreign policy, terrorism, health and medical care, early education, education, racial and ethnic minorities, psychology, law, substance abuse and mental health, and more. Includes data from the formerly separate International Archive of Educational Data.

International Encyclopedia of Women's Suffrage

An encyclopedia of the history of struggles for votes for women worldwide.

International Women in Science

A biographical dictionary of women scientists, mostly British, from about 1600 to 1950.

Internet Movie Database

Comprehensive movie information.

Internet Public Library: General/Reference

All of the basic research tools such as dictionaries and encyclopedias that you expect to find in a library.

Internet Quick Reference: IU Bloomington Libraries

Good resource for reference web sites, from Indiana University Bloomington Libraries.

Inventions and Inventors

An encyclopedia of 20th-century technological innovations.

IPEDS College Opportunities On-Line

Produced by The National Center for Education Statistics, this page links to more than 9,000 colleges and universities in the United States, including large universities, small liberal arts colleges, specialized colleges, community colleges, career or technical colleges and trade schools.

ISO International Organization for Standardization

The source of ISO 9000 and more than 13,000 International Standards for business, government and society.

Karla's Guide to Citation Style Guides

With links to many citation style guides, focusing on the citing of electronic resources.

Kelley Blue Book

Automobile buyer's guide.

Law (Oxford Reference Online)

Oxford University Press's law dictionaries and a guide to U.S. Supreme Court decisions.

Librarian's Index to the Internet: Reference

Searchable listing of Internet ready reference resources and quick facts.

Lexicool

This web site provides a searchable directory to over 6000 freely available online bilingual and multilingual dictionaries and glossaries. Searches may be entered by language(s), subject, or title/keyword. Search results provide the number of entries and links to the online dictionaries. The site also provides a directory of translation and interpreting courses, a listing of translator and interpreter associations worldwide, language resources, freeware to download and links to sites for currency conversion, text analysis and language identification. Language-related software and products may be purchased at the website.

Library Spot

Reference desk links to useful Internet resources.

Literature (Oxford Reference Online)

Oxford University Press's reference works on American, English, Irish, and classical literature.

Making It in America

An ABC-CLIO sourcebook on eminent ethnic Americans.

MapQuest

Maps, driving directions, road trip planner and live traffic reports.

Maps & Illustrations (Oxford Reference Online)

Oxford University Press's world maps, world flags, and visual dictionary.

Martial Arts of the World

An ABC-CLIO encyclopedia of combat techniques, martial sports, and physical culture.

Martindale's Calculators On-Line Center

Links to more than 18,000 calculators covering subjects A-Z, including mathematics, statistics, sciences and engineering.

McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Earth Science

A dictionary of terms in climatology, geochemistry, geodesy, geography, geology, geophysics, hydrology, meteorology, and oceanography.

McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Engineering

A dictionary of terms in building construction, chemical engineering, civil engineering, control systems, design engineering, electricity and electronics, engineering acoustics, industrial engineering, mechanics and mechanical engineering, systems engineering, and thermodynamics.

McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Environmental Science

A dictionary of terms in agriculture, botany, chemical engineering, civil engineering, climatology, ecology, forestry, genetics and evolution, geochemistry, geography and mapping, meteorology, microbiology, mycology, oceanography, petroleum and mining engineering, plant pathology, systematics, and zoology.

McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Mathematics

A dictionary of terms in mathematics and statistics.

Medicine (Oxford Reference Online)

Oxford University Press's reference works on drugs, nursing, psychology, the body, and medicine.

Medicinal Plants of the World

A dictionary of plant names, with chemical constituents and traditional and modern medicinal uses.

Medieval Folklore

An ABC-CLIO encyclopedia of myths, legends, tales, beliefs, and customs.

Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy

17th edition. Merck is dedicated to providing reliable, easy-to-use medical information. It is the world's most widely used general medical text.

Merriam-Webster Atlas

Maps and geographic information of countries or states.

Merriam-Webster Online

Search the Merriam-Webster Collegiate Dictionary and Collegiate Thesaurus.

Merriam-Webster Collegiate Dictionary

Searchable dictionary, provided by Gale Virtual Reference Library.

Military History (Oxford Reference Online)

Oxford University Press's reference works on military history.

MIT Encyclopedia of Communication Disorders

A comprehensive information on disorders of speech production and perception, language expression, language comprehension, voice, and hearing.

MLA Style: Frequently Asked Questions

Modern Language Association Format brought to you by the Purdue University Online Writing Lab.

Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report

The Centers for Disease Controls's updates and statistics on causes of death worldwide.

Mythology & Folklore (Oxford Reference Online)

Oxford University Press's reference works on mythology, folklore, and superstitions. .

Names & Places (Oxford Reference Online)

Dictionary of British Place-Names; Dictionary of First Names.

National Address Server

Given a valid U.S. postal address, this server attempts to rewrite the address in the proper format along with the ZIP+4 code. If it is successful, you can retrieve a Postscript or a GIF file of the address for printing, with a barcode. You can also view a street map of the address, from 2 different Internet map sites (MapBlast and MapQuest).

National Center for Health Statistics

From the Centers for Disease Control, "a rich source of information about America's health."

National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)

NCES is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data that are related to education in the United States and other nations. This web page provides easy access to that data.

Nobel Prize Internet Archive

Information on Nobel Prize winners, with links to related web sites.

Nolo's Encyclopedia of Everyday Law

Answers to frequently asked legal questions.

North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)

From the U.S. Census Bureau, a listing of codes used to classify jobs and industries in the United States, Canada, and Mexico, with tables for the corresponding SIC codes. These codes are useful for finding statistics in many databases.

NSSN Global Resource for Standards

Links or citations to over 250,000 standards from national, foreign, regional, international, and industry bodies (ISO, IEC, ITU, ANSI).

NTC's American Idioms Dictionary

A reference guide to everyday expressions in contemporary U.S. English.

NTC's Dictionary of American Slang and Colloquial Expressions

The 3rd edition of Richard A Spears's dictionary of informal U.S. English.

Nurse's Manual of Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests

A general reference for nurses for care planning, interventions, and evaluation of outcomes.

NYPL Image Gallery

Over 275,000 images from the New York Public Library's collections.

OneLook Dictionary Search

Search more than 750 online dictionaries.

Oran's Dictionary of the Law

A dictionary of legal terms, with a guide to legal research.

Oxford English Dictionary

The OED is viewed as the ultimate authority on the English language and offers complete information on pronunciations, functions, etymologies and meanings for the English language, from Anglo-Saxon times to current usage. The OED Online contains the complete text of the 20-volume Second Edition, first published in 1989, together with its Additions Series, published in 1993 and 1997. Revised and new entries will be added to the online Dictionary every quarter.

Oxford Reference Online

Oxford Reference Online brings together 100 language and subject dictionaries and reference works published by Oxford University Press, containing well over 60,000 pages. You can search the contents of the entire collection, individual titles or within the following subject areas: Art & Architecture, Biological Sciences, Classics, Computing, Earth & Environmental Sciences, Economics & Business, English Dictionaries & Thesauruses, English Language Reference, Food & Nutrition, General Reference, History, Law, Literature, Medicine, Military History, Modern Languages, Mythology & Folklore, Performing Arts, Physical Sciences & Mathematics, Politics & Social Sciences, Quotations, Religion & Philosophy and Science.

Performing Arts (Oxford Reference Online)

Oxford University Press's reference works on opera, dance, theater, and music.

Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection

More than 5,000 map images from the University of Texas at Austin; most in the public domain.

Physical Sciences & Mathematics (Oxford Reference Online)

Oxford University Press's reference works on astronomy, chemistry, mathematics, physics, statistics, weights, measures, and units.

Politics & Social Sciences (Oxford Reference Online)

Oxford University Press's reference works on history, geography, politics, psychology, and sociology.

Pollution A to Z

Provides information on a variety of pollution issues, including sources, disposal, remediation, the ethical, social, and legal environment, and careers; articles range from topical essays on acid rain, cancer, noise pollution, and zero growth population to biographies on key figures.

Quotations (Oxford Reference Online)

Oxford University Press's quotation dictionaries.

Racial Justice in America

An ABC-CLIO reference handbook in the Contemporary World Issues series; emphasizes African American civil rights issues.

Rand McNally

Maps, driving directions, and road trip planner.

Refdesk.com

Comprehensive Internet reference resource.

Religion & Philosophy (Oxford Reference Online)

Oxford University Press's reference works on Buddhism, Judaism, Islam, Christianity, the Bible, world religions, and philosophy.

Religion and Politics

An ABC-CLIO reference handbook in the Contemporary World Issues series.

Religious Sites in America

A dictionary of U.S. religious places.

Right Site: Demographic Reports & Maps

Search 1 million pages of demographic reports. Search by zip code, area code, state, city, county, metropolitan area, and other types of geographic areas, and retrieve reports on housing, education, quality of life, business profile, and many other kinds of demographic information.

Rise of the Medieval World, 500-1300

A biographical dictionary in Greenwood's Great Cultural Eras of the Western World series.

Rivers of the World

An ABC-CLIO social, geographical, and environmental sourcebook.

Scholarly Societies Project

Provides information on international academic and scholarly societies.

Science (Oxford Reference Online)

Oxford University Press's reference works on sciences, mathematics, and health care.

Scientific Revolution

A historical encyclopedia of European science in the 16th and 17th centuries.

Social Change in America

A historical handbook on social change in the United States, with emphasis on the last half of the 20th century.

Social Phobia

A medical dictionary, bibliography, and annotated research guide on social phobias.

Social Trends and Indicators USA

Detailed statistics on social issues paired with expert analyses of the statistics.

Special Education

An ABC-CLIO reference handbook in the Contemporary Education Issues series.

Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) System Search

From the U.S. Occupational Safety & Health Administration, a database of the codes used for classifying industries in the United States. These codes are useful for finding statistics in many databases.

State Data Center: Business Industry Data Center

The State Data Center: Business Industry Data Center Program is a national partnership between states and the U.S. Census Bureau, operational since 1978. Each state has one or more state level partners and a network of affiliated organizations throughout each state, with approximately 1,700 such agencies nationwide handling more than 1 million data requests annually. Its content focuses on operational needs (annual reporting, network agreements, plans for the future) and important issues, both philosophical and applied, relating to the universal use and access to Census Bureau data within our states and territories.

State Health Facts Online

From the Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, "the latest state-level data on demographics, health, and health policy, including health coverage, access, financing, and state legislation."

Statistical Abstract of the United States

From the U.S. Census Bureau, a collection of statistics on U.S. social and economic conditions; selected international data also included.

Stats Indiana

Social and economic data about Indiana and elsewhere, with categories on census, population, economy, workforce and other useful statistical information. A helpful A-Z guide is also available. A web service of the Indiana Business Research Center at the Indiana University Kelley School of Business.

STAT-USA/Internet

Business, trade and economic information, featuring "State of the Nation" with current and historical economic and financial releases and economic data and "Globus & NTDB" (National Trade Data Bank) for current and historical trade-related releases, international market research, trade opportunities, country analysis and the NTDB trade library.

Surveillance, Epidemiology, and End Results (SEER)

The National Cancer Institute's database of statistics.

Switchboard: Internet Telephone Directory

Locate businesses and people.

Thomas Register of American Manufacturers

A leading resource for information on industrial products and services, with company and product information on more than 170,000 manufacturers. Free but requires login.

Timeline of Art History

A chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world, as illustrated especially by the Metropolitan Museum of Art's collection.

Timelines (Oxford Reference Online)

Timelines of events in the 20th century, mostly in Australia, Canada, United Kingdom, and United States, arranged topically.

Ulrich's Periodicals Directory

Ulrich’s Periodicals Directory has been the global source for periodicals information since 1932. Ulrich's provides detailed, comprehensive, and authoritative information on serials published throughout the world. It covers all subjects, and includes publications that are published regularly or irregularly and are circulated free of charge or by paid subscription. Links are available to search for individual periodicals in the ISU Library catalog, the ISU Library's electronic journal holdings list and OCLC's WorldCat. Table of Contents listings for individual titles are also available. Reviews are included for selected periodicals.

UNICEF: Monitoring and Statistics

From the United Nations agency UNICEF, basic health statistics for each country in the world.

Uniform Crime Reports

The Federal Bureau of Investigation's annual report on crime in the United States.

U.S. Census Bureau

U.S. Census Bureau Home Page.

U.S. Census Bureau: Economic Programs

With access to current economic indicators and other valuable economic data.

U.S. Census Bureau: POPClocks

Select U.S. or World current population statistics and other population information.

U.S. Census Bureau: Statistics International

International statistical agencies.

UM Weather

Providing access to thousands of forecasts, images, and the Net's largest collection of weather links, UM Weather is the most comprehensive and up-to-date source of weather data on the Web.

Universal Currency Converter

Exchange rates for many world currencies.

Using CBE Style to Cite and Document Sources

A guide to citing print and electronic sources using CBE (Council of Biology Editors) style.

Using Modern Language Association (MLA) Format

From the Purdue University Online Writing Lab (OWL), guidelines for following the MLA Handbook (6th ed.), including examples of how to cite print and electronic sources.

Visual English Dictionary

Oxford University Press's dictionary of topical pictures.

WebElements Periodic Table

A wealth of information on chemistry and the elements that comprise the periodic table.

Weather Almanac

A compilation of weather-related maps, charts, and safety rules based on past records, research, and experience; also includes weather anecdotes and weather-related statistics for over 100 cities in the United States and about 160 key cities world-wide.

WhoWhere? International Directory Links

Links to phone directories from countries around the world.

WHO Research Tools

From the World Health Organization, links to publications, statistics, and other health information.

Who's Who in the Ancient Near East

A biographical dictionary of people important in the history of the ancient Near East.

Witchcraft Today

An ABC-CLIO encyclopedia of Wiccan and neopagan traditions.

World Cultural Leaders of the Twentieth Century

A biographical dictionary of artists and other cultural leaders.

World Currency Exchange

Exchange rates for many world currencies.

World Education Encyclopedia

Country-by-country survey of educational systems provides detailed essays on the histories, legal foundations, and primary and secondary educational systems of 233 countries.

World Population

A reference handbook on population issues in ABC-CLIO's Contemporary World Issues series.

World Time Server

World Time Server provides correct and current time in any world time zone, country or major city. Accurate adjustments for Daylight Saving Time ( or Summer Time ) are made according to each location's rules and laws. No matter what time zone a country or city is located in, this is your top choice for a clock resource site.

Yahoo! Directory Reference: Dictionaries

Links to various dictionary web sites.

yourDictionary.com

Links to over 1,800 dictionaries in 250 languages.

Zip Code Lookup

Zip code information from the United States Postal Service.