Indiana State University Library

Cunningham Memorial Library | Your Campus Living Room


Terre Haute Ind. Sunday July 23 1882


The Lodge met in regular session. Worthy Master Fox occupied the chair. The minutes of the preceding meeting were read and approved.


Proposition for Membership

The following prepositions for membership were read :

	Frank Nicholson		-	Age	18	Recommended	by	A. J. Mullen

	Pat. Mc Henry		-	 "	"	     "		"	O. E. Fox

	Ivan Swanson		-	 "	29	     "		"	O. E. Fox

	F Wm Davidson		-	 "	29	     "		"	James Smith

Warren Thompson -- proposed by A. J. Mullen for reinstatement -- the proposition being accompanied by $3.00 the amount of Mr. Thompson's arrearage at the time of his expulsion July 25 th 1880.

The foregoing petitions were referred to a Committee consisting of Brothers A. J. Mullen, Chas. Scott and Wm Barr for investigation.


Reports of Committees

The Committee on the investigation of Alonzo Hunt, who was charged with drunkenness, reported the proceedings of the trial and also that the accused had plead guilty and being his first offense he was suspended for the space of twenty four hours next following the concurrence of the report of the Committee.

On motion the report was concurred in, the Committee discharged and Brother Hunt declared suspended for twenty four hours.


Election of Officers

Nominations were declared in order for Master.

Orville E. Fox and J. N. Van Cleve were placed in nomination.

The following is the result of the ballot :

		Orville E. Fox		received	11	votes
		J. N. Van Cleve		  "		7	  "

Brother Fox having received a majority of the votes cast he was declared elected Master of the Lodge for the ensuing term.

Vice Master

J. N. Vancleve [sic] and Chas Scott were nominated for Vice Master.

Brother Vancleve [sic] received 13 votes and Brother Scott received 5 votes.

Brother Van Cleve having received a majority of all the votes cast he was declared elected Vice Master for the ensuing term.



Chas. Bennett and E. V. Debs were placed in nomination.

Brother Debs received 12 votes and Brother Bennett 6 votes.

Brother Debs was declared elected Secretary for the ensuing term.



James Smith was elected Financier for the ensuing term by acclamation



Fred Wood, Rob't Ebbage and Chas. Scott were elected Trustees by acclamation


Brother Frank Smith was appointed Warden.



Chas. Bennett was appointed Conductor.


Inner Guard

Edward Bundy was appointed Inner Guard


Outer Guard

Frank Gross was appointed Outer Guard



Jef. Brannin was appointed chaplain


James Southard retained his position as Post Master


Delegate to 9th Annual Convention

For delegate to the Ninth Annual Convention Brother Robert Ebbage was chosen by acclamation.


Installation of Offices

The following newly -- elected Officers were duly installed: --



A bill in the sum of $3.00 for postage stamps for the Financier was read and allowed.


Receipts of the Meeting

The receipts of the meeting were reported at $13.50


Good of the Order

The Secretary reported that Wm Brannin an expelled member of the Vigo Lodge No 16 had made application to Div. 25 of the B. of L.E. for admission and that the latter Lodge wished to know the cause of his expulsion. On motion of Brothers F. H. Mullen, the Secretary was directed to correspond with the Secretary of the B. of L.E. and give him a transcript of the record in the matter under the seal of the Lodge.

The meeting then adjourned.

Close of the regular meeting Sunday July 23/82
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

510 N 6 1/2 Street, Terre Haute, IN 47809
Map | Parking | Visiting Info

to Top