New Staff in Special Collections

Harini Pinnoju  has accepted the position of Digital Initiatives Technician in the Special Collections Department. Harini will work in the Digital Initiatives unit area under Kayla Siddell’s supervision. Her first day in the library will be Wednesday, June 15th.

Library Dean Goes to Washington

National Library Legislative Day 2016/Honorable representation of Robin Crumrin

On May 3rd, I had the honor of “hitting the Hill” with over 400 library representatives from across the country. It is a personally gratifying and humbling experience to represent Indiana Libraries and be their voice.  The library advocates (from all types of libraries) spoke with legislators and their staff about four key asks:

  • CONFIRM Dr. Carla Hayden as the next Librarian of Congress
  • SUPPORT LSTA and Innovative Approaches to Literacy (IAL) Funding
  • PASS Electronic Communications Privacy Act Reform
  • RATIFY the Marrakesh Treaty for the print-disabled ASAP

If you’re interested in more information you can check out the issues briefs for 2016.

– Robin Crumrin, Dean


The Indiana Librarian Delegation for National Library Legislative Day 2016

Tara White, Robin Crumrin, Leslie Preddy, Gigi Shook, Terry Rheinheimer

Book Drop Detour

Due to a new construction project involving the tunnels, the library book drop closest to the street – just past the Student Recreation Center – will be slightly inaccessible for a while.

Park and walk between the fencing around the corner to the drop.


TDplus Project – Guidance Briefs Public Review and Use

EducopiaLogoIndiana State University Library, represented by Data Curation Librarian Kayla Siddell, is a participant in the ETDplus project funded by the Institute of Museum and Library Services and led by the Educopia Institute. The focus of this study is the long term preservation of and sustained access to research data and complex digital objects that are part of electronic theses and dissertations. The Guidance Briefs that are a portion of the grant’s deliverables are now available for review, use, and/or comment. Please feel free to examine the briefs and share with your graduate students and others who may be interested in the topic.InstituteMuseumLibrarySvcsLogo

– Cinda May, Chair of Special Collections

Preserving and Curating ETD Research Data and Complex Digital Objects, Guidance Briefs Available for Public Review and Use – (May 3-June 30, 2016)

The ETDplus project ( invites Electronic Theses and Dissertations (ETD) program staff, librarians, faculty advisors, and graduate students to participate in a public review of the Guidance Briefs for Preserving & Curating ETD Research Data & Complex Digital Objects.

About the ETD Guidance Briefs
The Guidance Briefs are short (3-4 pages) “how-to” oriented briefs designed to help ETD programs build and nurture supportive relationships with student researchers. These briefs will assist student researchers in understanding how their approaches to data and content management impact credibility, replicable research, and general long-term accessibility: knowledge and skills that will impact the health of their careers for years to come.

Review (and Use!) the Guidance Briefs
Interested ETD stakeholders can download copies of the Guidance Briefs at the following website, The Guidance Briefs cover the following topics:

1.    Copyright
2.    Data Structures
3.    File Formats
4.    Metadata
5.    Storage
6.    Version Control

We are releasing these Briefs–both during this initial public review phase and after they are refined–as openly editable documents. We want institutions to use and reuse these in whatever way works for their local audiences. Each Brief includes generally applicable information about its topic, and also includes a “Local Practices” section that an institution may use to call attention to what’s happening on its own campus.
We invite you to help us refine these documents by drawing our project team’s attention to any components that need to be edited, revised, broadened, or narrowed. Please send us an email with your suggestions and/or track your changes within the documents and email those back to us at the addresses below by or before June 30, 2016. We plan to integrate the community’s feedback before formally issuing these Briefs under a CC BY 4.0 license later this summer.

If you have any further questions about the Guidance Briefs or about the ETDplus project, don’t hesitate to reach out to:

About the ETDplus Project

The ETDplus project is helping institutions ensure the longevity and availability of ETD research data and complex digital objects (e.g., software, multimedia files) that comprise an integral component of student theses and dissertations. The project is generously funded by the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) and led by the Educopia Institute, in collaboration with the NDLTD, HBCU Alliance, bepress, ProQuest, and the libraries of Carnegie Mellon, Indiana State, Morehouse, Oregon State, Penn State, Purdue, University of Louisville, University of Tennessee, the University of North Texas, and Virginia Tech.

2016 Annual CML Student Assistant Appreciation Reception – A Great Success!

A Library cannot function without its student employees!

Cunningham Library’s 24th annual Student Appreciation reception was held on April 27th in the Events Area and it was one of the best attended of these ceremonies in years!  Your support of our wonderful student assistants is to be commended. Four special awards were presented and students from many areas of the library who will receive degrees in 2016 were recognized with gifts from the Dean. Congratulations and our best wishes to them all!

 2016 Hildegard Pang Award recipients:

  • Kyle Stephenson – Special Collections
  • Brendon Truax – Circulation

2016 Swearingen Family Award recipients:

  • Abigail Pierce – Circulation
  • Bryce Brocar – Circulation

  2016 Degree Recipients:

  • Ashley Bauer – Admin Office
  • Janelle DavidsonSpecial Collections
  • Matthew Goelz – Tech Services/Gov. Docs
  • Emily Gray – Tech Services/Gov. Docs
  • Brittany Irwin – Tech Services/Acquisitions
  • Sydney Jackson – Tech Services/Acquisitions
  • Cheyenne Jenkins – Tech Services/Acquisitions
  • Sowmya Kothapalli – Tech Services/ILL
  • Sarah Logsdon – Public Services
  • Ramya Sree Matcha – Tech Services/ILL
  • Geena McFaul – Public Services
  • Wesley Pershing – Public Services
  • Kyle Stephenson – Special Collections
  • Brendon Truax – Public Services
  • Alexis Vestal – Tech Services/ILL
  • Rob Whitman – Admin Office