Library Faculty Assembly





LFA 04/05-01                                                             Approved: 9/2/04

Monday, August 16, 2004, 4:00 p.m.

LC 230


Members Present: Sally Baker, Karen Evans, Steve Hardin, Betsy Hine, Anthony Kaiser, Juliet Kerico, Elizabeth Lorenzen, Cinda May, Christopher Mehrens

Members Absent:


Support Staff Representative:

Guest: Marsha Miller (outgoing Chair)


  1. Election of officers


The Assembly elected the following persons to the following offices:


Betsy Hine – Chair

Karen Evans – Vice Chair

Steve Hardin – Secretary

Elizabeth Lorenzen – Parliamentarian


  1. Remarks by outgoing Chair


M. Miller noted there were three important items left over from her administration:

    • Creation of an LFA Web site – this site should be a useful reference, containing more than just a list of officers
    • Reviewing the Constitution – it is in a “state of disrepair.”  She recommended the Assembly consider ALA statements on academic librarians, supporting the position of library faculty member
    • Promotion, Tenure and Leaves document – seems to have “gotten lost” in its approval process


M. Miller further recommended establishing a timeline for any projects the LFA undertakes to increase the chances of their getting done.


She further recommended LFA members “pay attention” to the announcements and other information sources; there will be meetings which will be good for library faculty members to attend.  She remarked that in the past year she sometimes was the only library faculty member at some of these gatherings. 


She also said she would ask Dara Middleton to change the permissions for the LFA network files to permit access by current LFA members.


  1. Remarks by incoming Chair


B. Hine recommended all LFA members become familiar with the Constitution.


She also requested members tell her if they’re interested in serving on the Library Faculty Affairs Committee (LFAC) or the Library Administrative Affairs Committee (LAAC). 


She asked all members to send her their schedules, specifying when they cannot meet. 


  1. Adjournment


Meeting adjourned at 4:20 p.m.  Time and place for next meeting to be announced. 


Respectfully submitted,


Steve Hardin