The collection contains a wide vareity of materials in various formats. The guide provides an overview of the contents of the collection.
The guide is organized topically or by format, reflecting how the material itself is housed. At this early stage of receipt, it is almost impossible to adequately describe the complete contents of this important collection. As time permits and demand increases, bibliographic access to parts of the collection will be expanded or improved. Links to online access tools will be listed here and on the Quick Links page. Other forms of access may be mentioned only in this Research Guide. Therefore, researchers should check this page on a regular basis for updates.
Dr. Neff has in some instances commented on the documents, describing how they were obtained or describing research conducted on them. While an effort will be made to bring such activities out in due time, researchers should feel to make inquiries about the provenance of documents or any other additional information pertaining to them. An effort will be made to make a timely reply.
The collection is open to all qualified researchers. Please advise staff of a wish to use the collection via the provided form to make sure there are no conflicting activities and that the department is available at the time you wish to visit. You may also check the department home page for contact information.
Main Research Files
- 881 numbered files on different individuals, organizations, and artifacts. (Not all files contain materials, while others may contain a large volume of entries and extend to numerous containers.)
- Web-searchable database under construction.
- Contains personal papers of Andrew Potter and material related to him: book excerpts, court transcripts, death certificates, diary excerpts, essays, interviews, letters, marriage certificates, photographs, police blotters, reports and wills.
- Individuals named in various entries or at the folder level are Andrew Potter, George Baker, Lafayette C. Baker, Mary Baker, John Wilkes Booth, Colonel William A. Browning, John Celestine, Emaline Lolita Lola d'Hulet, William McKee Dunn, Richard Gemmecke, Morse Frederick Goven, Milton Hottle, George W. Julian, Gaylord McCluer, Louise Pollock McKennan , Myrtle Allen Moore, E. W. Nelson, Osbourn H. Oldroyd, William Wood Parsons, Luther Potter, Rozella Faye Potter, I. F. Runion, Edwin Stokes, Fred L. Swink, Susan Wade, and James E. Walker.
Boyd Family Materials
Contains military musters, roll call of prisoners, letters, vouchers, accounts, chronology, research notes, and photographs. (This records the exhaustive search for the identity of James W. Boyd and his family.)
Chaffey & Chaffey Shipping Company
Contains business correspondence and some accounting details.
Lafayette C. Baker's Library
- 10 books from Baker's library, including 1864, Part II of Colburn's Service Magaizne and Naval Military Journal, containing examples throughout of Baker's use of cipher messages.
John Wilkes Booth Materials
Copies of materials relating to his marriages, his will, etc.
Other Research Materials
(arranged by collector or subject)
- William B Earle
- Richard Gemmecke
- Gaylord McCluer
- Osborn Oldroyd
- William Wood Parsons
- Maude Russell
- Kate Scott
- Peter Sumerson
Media (including videos & photographic material)
- The Body on the Montauk (video self-interview by Ray Neff in VHS format).
- Wounded in the House of Friends (video self-interview by Ray Neff in VHS format).
- Photographs from Dark Union (temporarily housed in folders in ring binder)
- 100+ contemporary glass negatives
- 50+ contemporary and modern negatives
Micofilm Sets or Selections
- Turner-Baker Papers (137 rolls). Pamphlet & index
- Lincoln Assassination Suspect Files (16 rolls). Introduction & index
- Mosby's Partisan Rangers (indexed separately)
- Forrest's Scouts
- (Newsom's) 18th Tennessee Calvary (indexed separately)
- Carrington Papers
- Letters Received by the Office of the Adjutant General (selected reels from 1864 & 1872)
- West Tennessee Whig (Oct. 1842-June 1867)
- Baltimore City Directory (1860, 1864-65)
- The Lincoln Scrapbook (Library of Congress)
- Register, St. Lawrence Hall: Montreal (1864-65)
- Smith-Brady Commission Report
Select Publications of Ray Neff & Leonard Guttridge
These titles were written by Dr. Neff or Mr. Guttridge, either alone, together, or with other collaborators.
- The Commodores. By Leonard Guttridge.
Dark Union: The Secret Web of Profiteers, Politicians, and Booth Conspirators That Led to Lincoln's Death. Wiley, 2003. By Leonard Guttridge and Ray Neff.
- Ghosts of Cape Sabine: The Harrowing True Story of the Greely Expedition. By Leonard Guttridge.
- The Great Coalfield War. By George McGovern and Leonard Guttridge.
Identification and Autopsy of John Wilkes Booth: Reexamining the Evidence Navy Medicine Jan.-Feb, 1993: 17-26. By Leonard Guttridge.
- History of the United States Secret Service. 2 Vols. By Lafayette C. Baker. Preface and Introduction by Ray Neff. 83 pp.
- Icebound: The Jeannette Expedition's Quest for the North Pole. By Leonard Guttridge.
- Jack Teagarden: The Story of a Jazz Maverick. By Leonard Guttridge.
- Mutiny: A History of Naval Insurrection. By Leonard Guttridge.
- Valley of the Shadow. By Ray Neff.
- Valley of the Shadow. 2nd ed. By Ray Neff.